top of page

The Olson Journey

The Olson Trilogy by Ann Hanigan Kotz

Follow Ann Hanigan Kotz's journey in writing the Olson series. See excerpts from her newest novel. (photo of the Loess Hills by Julie Christensen Brown.)

Home: Image

The Journey of Karoline Olsen

Book 1 of the Olsen Series


Home: Welcome
small screenshot_edited_edited.jpg

Sons and Daughters

The Legacy of Karoline Olsen

Ann's second book continues the story of Karoline Olsen. Focusing on her children, the novel explores life without a father in the tumultuous time period, 1916-1933.

Release Date: Fall/Winter 2023
Home: About Me


14 Sunset Circle, Adel IA 50003

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact

Read Ann's progress

Home: Text

An Apology to My Students

Dear Former English Students, I'm sorry I made you redo your papers multiple times. I'm sorry I told you they weren't interesting enough....

Starting a New Book

I wrapped up my third book and finished my own edits on the second book, so it's time to get going on the fourth novel. This one moves...

Getting Ready to Launch

Who knew getting one little book ready for release is such a complicated process? I just signed off on my new book jacket (snazzy, huh?)...

The Wayward Author

I'm terrible at a lot of things-- anything sports related, letting my husband teach me to golf, making pie crusts-- but apparently I'm...

The Letter....

According to my publisher, I need to put the letter into the 2nd edition of The Longest Journey. So, I have decided that to be fair to my...

Finally out of the mud

I have been stuck for weeks. I have two characters, Gunda (Goon•da) and Alex, left to write. I have known that Gunda would be a teacher,...

Not Yet a Poker Queen

I've gotten myself into an area of life of which I know nothing-- poker. ♦️ This book, as well as the last in the trilogy, rely on one...

Getting into my Norwegian

John and I spent two days in Decorah, a very Norwegian town. I wanted to visit Vesterheim, the Norwegian museum to educate myself a...

I've never played poker!

Spent time on the web, learning how to play poker. Seven-card Stud! It's not as difficult as I thought it was going to be. I'd have to...

I'm not a drug addict!

I've been doing some research on drug addiction in the 1900s, and every time I look up information, a counselor pops up asking me if I...

Home: Blog2
Home: Text


Sunset in the Woods


Learn more about the author


Contact the author


Sons & Daughters (book 2) excerpts

Home: Services
bottom of page